Ignition Interlock Devices in Florida

Ignition Interlock Devices in Florida

Stephanie Cortes
 | 
Florida drivers who are convicted of a DUI offense may be required by the court to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in all their vehicles for a certain amount of time. An IID is a small device that is installed in a vehicle and requires that the driver blow their breath into it, to start.

The device measures alcohol levels in the driver’s breath and will  not allow the care to initiate if the BAL exceeds the limits. 

Have you been ordered by a Florida court to  install an ignition interlock device, commonly known as a breathalyzer? Here's what you need to know. 

Florida Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
The amount of time Florida drivers are ordered to utilize an IID will depend on the circumstances of the case and number of offenses. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), an individual may be required to have an IID  installed:
  • 6 months minimum  for first offenses, if BAL is 0.15, or a minor in the car
  • 2 years minimum for second and third-time offenses, if BAL is 0.15 o a minor in the car 
  • 5 years minimum - Four or more offenses 
It is important to know that time towards a restriction begins only after a “P” restriction is placed on the driving record and the license is reinstated. To have the “P” marking added, drivers must visit a driver’s license service center or tax collector office. 

Florida IID Service Providers 

According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), those who were convicted of a DUI after July 1, 2002, can utilize the IID program once they become eligible for driver license reinstatement. After the “P” mark restriction is issued, the driver may contact an approved service provider listed on the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website to install the IID.

According to the Florida Safety Council, the average cost a convicted driver may pay for an IID is $70.00 for the installation and $65-$70 for the monthly monitoring.
Drivers who operate a vehicle without a mandated IID may have their licenses revoked.

Driving a company vehicle 
Employees who regularly drive their company’s vehicles must obtain written permission from their Employers. The letter allows drivers to operate the vehicle for job-related task without the mandated IID. FLHSMV suggests drivers keep the letter with them in  case they are stopped for a traffic violation.

What will cause an IID violation? 
A vehicle will not begin at an IID measure of a BAC higher than 0.025. For certain cases, a judge may require the level to be lower.

According to FLHSMV, the driver is in violation if:
  • Two breath test results are above the IID limit when starting the car
  • Missing a required rolling re-test after the vehicle has started
  • Testing above the BAL limit for required rolling re-test after the vehicle has started
  • Any indication or evidence of equipment tampering
Drivers who receive violation letters must contact a licensed Florida DUI program in their county within 10 days. The program will schedule an appointment with the driver to discuss the IID usage.

This article is intended to convey generally useful information only and does not constitute legal advice. Any opinions expressed are solely those of the author, not LawChamps.
Stephanie Cortes

Find My Lawyer

Start by selecting your legal need:
Business / Employment

Business / Employment

Family / Personal / Injury / Immigration

Family / Personal / Injury / Immigration

Criminal Defense / Civil Rights

Criminal Defense / Civil Rights

Real Estate / Housing

Real Estate / Housing

Estate Planning / Power of Attorney

Estate Planning / Power of Attorney

Review & Rating Images LawChamps
LawChamps Reviews

"I was able to find just the right lawyer for my case. It was easy to use."

Lucy Coutinho

Client

Review & Rating Images LawChamps
LawChamps Reviews

"Very easy for me to get connected with an experienced attorney."

Robert Knox Jr

Client

Review & Rating Images LawChamps
LawChamps Reviews

"It was super easy. It was super fast and I got connected pretty quickly."

Lenasia Smalls

Client

Client Testimonial - Triso Valls
LawChamps Reviews

"It’s easy to register and match with a lawyer according to your legal [need]."

Triso Valls

Client

Ready To Get Started?

Find Your Lawyer NowLawChamps Arrow Icon

Related Posts

Put Aside Guilt or Innocence for a Minute. Cosby Is a F...

Patty Lamberti | 28 July, 2021

There’s only one reason Bill Cosby was released from prison. It’s not that he’s a celebrity. It’s because he’s rich. Our entire judicial ...

Read More Arrow Icon

Who Can I Sue If I'm Injured By a Drunk Driver?

Michelle Patrick | 16 July, 2021

The statistics for drunk driving in the United States are staggering. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) estimates that approximately 28 people ar...

Read More Arrow Icon

How to Expunge a Marijuana Record in Michigan

Scott Dylan Westerlund | 23 June, 2021

Michigan made moves to legalize marijuana years ago, yet 250,000 Michigan residents are still plagued by marijuana convictions from their past. Are you one of them? If...

Read More Arrow Icon

Related Posts

Hire One, Help Another

LawChamps donates a portion of our revenue, investing it back into funding justice reform organizations and subsidizing the legal fees for those who cannot afford them.
Learn More