What does it mean if a judge orders you to get an ignition interlock device in Georgia?

What does it mean if a judge orders you to get an ignition interlock device in Georgia?

Stephanie Cortes
 | 

Georgia drivers who are convicted of a Driving Under the Influence (DU) offense may be required by the court to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in all of their vehicles for a certain amount of time. An IID is a small device that is installed in a vehicle and requires that the driver blow their breath into it, to start. The device measures alcohol levels in the driver’s breath and will  not allow the care to initiate if the Blood Alcohol Level exceeds the limits. 

 

Have you been ordered by a Georgia court to  install an ignition interlock device, commonly known as a breathalyzer? Here's what you need to know. 

 

Georgia Ignition Interlock Device Requirements

 

The amount of time Georgia drivers are ordered to utilize an IID will depend on the circumstances of the case and the number of offenses. Offenders with two or more DUI convictions involving alcohol within a 5 year period are required to keep an IID  installed for at least 12 months after limited driving privileges are reinstated. 

 

First-time offenders whose licenses were suspended must wait at least 30 days after it was served in order to request an ignition interlock program and reattain driving privileges. 

 

Georgia IID Service Fees 

 

Georgia provides participants the opportunity to enroll in IID program where they are monitored by certified service providers. The following are the service fees providers generally charge:

 
  • Installation is up to $75;
  • Monthly monitoring fee up to $75; and 
  • Removal fee $75
  • A participant may be required to pay additional fees to their providers for any other agreements made in the contract such as mouthpieces or insurance.
 

In Georgia, participants are also required to pay the following fees to the state’s Department of Driver Services:

 
  • $25 for a 14-month restricted driving permit fee and
  • $100 to remove the interlock restriction
 

Individuals experiencing an economic burden may fill out a financial hardship waiver

 

Getting an IID

To qualify for the IID program, offenders must complete 120 days of “hard suspension” prohibiting them from driving for any reason. During this time, it is suggested by Georgia’s Department of Driver Services (DDS) that they should complete a certified DUI Drug OR Alcohol Use Risk Reduction Program, receive a clinical evaluation, and submit one of the following:

  • Proof of participation in clinical treatment; or
  • Certificate of treatment Completion for Habitual Violators; or
  • Court drug program certificate of eligibility for IID restricted permit.

After submitting eligibility, offenders may request for an Ignition Interlock Limited driving permit and contact a provider for installation after it has been approved. 

 

Monitoring  and Maintenance

The period of compliance does not start until Georgia’s Department of Driver Serves issues the Ignition Limited Driving Permit. This means that credit will not be recorded for the offender  in the case that the IID was installed before such a date. 

The amount of time the offender maintains the IID installed for monitoring depends on the arrest date for the convicted offense:

  • Arrest before January 1, 2013 = 6 months of monitoring
  • Arrest before January 1, 2013 thru June 30, 2013 = 8 months of monitoring
  • Arrest on or after July 1 201 = 12 months of monitoring

Offenders in Georgia must have their device calibrated and monitored every 30 days.

The driver’s permit may be revoked if DDS receives a Notice of Ignition Offender. IID offenses may include: tampering with the device, failing to report for monitoring, or removing the IID before completing the program.  IID Offenders may request an appeal hearing with the Office of State Administrative Hearing (OSAH). The filing fee is $250


IID Removal

Once the driver completed all of the IID installation requirements for the required period of time, they must submit the monitoring report to DPSS. DPS will either grant a non-ignition interlock limited permit or a full reinstatement of driving privileges.

If approved, Georgia’s DDS will provide the driver with an IID Removal Authorization Form (RC-IIP-I37HV). The driver will need to provide this form to the IID service provider to have the device removed.

For Georgia’s Ignition Interlock Device program questions, call DPS Contact Center at 678-413-8400.

 

 
 
This article is intended to convey generally used information only and does not constitute legal advice. Any opinions expressed are solely those of the author, and not LawChamps. 
Stephanie Cortes

Find My Lawyer

Start by selecting your legal need:
Business / Employment

Business / Employment

Family / Personal / Injury / Immigration

Family / Personal / Injury / Immigration

Criminal Defense / Civil Rights

Criminal Defense / Civil Rights

Real Estate / Housing

Real Estate / Housing

Estate Planning / Power of Attorney

Estate Planning / Power of Attorney

Review & Rating Images LawChamps
LawChamps Reviews

"I was able to find just the right lawyer for my case. It was easy to use."

Lucy Coutinho

Client

Review & Rating Images LawChamps
LawChamps Reviews

"Very easy for me to get connected with an experienced attorney."

Robert Knox Jr

Client

Review & Rating Images LawChamps
LawChamps Reviews

"It was super easy. It was super fast and I got connected pretty quickly."

Lenasia Smalls

Client

Client Testimonial - Triso Valls
LawChamps Reviews

"It’s easy to register and match with a lawyer according to your legal [need]."

Triso Valls

Client

Ready To Get Started?

Find Your Lawyer NowLawChamps Arrow Icon

Related Posts

The Top 5 Worst States for Dog Bites: What It Means For...

Scott Dylan Westerlund | 12 April, 2021

A large wolf can bite down with over 1,200 pounds of pressure, whereas a human exerts about 120 pounds of force. The typical pet dog falls somewhere in between with an av...

Read More Arrow Icon

Why Entrepreneurs in California Need a Lawyer

Carrie Pallardy | 12 April, 2021

With Silicon Valley and major cities like San Francisco and Los Angeles, business is booming in California. Entrepreneurs are attracted to the state, which is the largest...

Read More Arrow Icon

What Happens If You Don’t Complete Court-Ordered Comm...

Jane Meggitt | 12 April, 2021

Community service is not an option for those convicted of serious crimes, but it is used as an alternative form of sentencing for lesser offenses and as a condition of pr...

Read More Arrow Icon

Related Posts

Hire One, Help Another

LawChamps donates a portion of our revenue, investing it back into funding justice reform organizations and subsidizing the legal fees for those who cannot afford them.
Learn More